Maurice Sendak: “I refuse to lie to children”

“Maurice Sendak’s books were shaped by his own childhood: one marked by the Lindbergh baby kidnapping, the concentration camp deaths of most of his extended family, and parents consumed by depression and anger. When Sendak started illustrating and writing for children, he vowed that he wouldn’t write stories of sunshine and rainbows, because that’s not real life” says Stacy Conradt

Maurice believed that it is unnatural to think that there is such a thing as a blue-sky, happy-clouded childhood for anybody. “I’m totally crazy, I know that. I don’t say that to be a smartass, but I know that that’s the very essence of what makes my work good. And I know my work is good. Not everybody likes it, that’s fine. I don’t do it for everybody. Or anybody. I do it because I can’t not do it.”

His book MOMMY? is a riot. Take a look at the video and also enjoy the playfulness of his illustrations.

1 2 3 4

More on Sendak in the next post

Leave a Reply

